top of page

Seeing Clearly


I walked in to class a few weeks ago and discovered Delano, waiting in the dark in the dojo. I turned on the light and realized that he was sitting there calmly waiting, with his cane for blind people, resting beside him within arms reach. I at first had my doubts about how this could possibly work. He has never done aikido.

Week one. Delano reaches for the edge of the crack between the mats and positions himself perfectly, in line with all the other students. I can see him sensing his way around the room seeing with his ears and feet. He listens acutely to my directions. Robert sensei shadows Delano in the class and positions him to roll, from kneeling. He pours himself on to the mat and tucks in, just at the right moment. His roll is straight as an arrow. It's as if his blindness helps him to see better from the inside of his own somatic experience.

I partner with Delano. We meet with cross-wrists. I ask him to meet me in the middle. I show him with my arm what being present feels like; what being limp is; and what blocking is. He quickly gets the difference and can feel the middle, the point of meeting, in a way sighted people have a hard time with.

Week two. I ask everyone in the class to close their eyes. We have much to learn from Delano.

bottom of page