top of page

WHY

I'm listening to the CBC, and the announcer said if you eat 3-5 servings of fruits and vegetables per day, you cut your risk of death by 40%. Don't believe everything you hear. Last night on the National news, the UN report on Climate Change said that we are in BIG trouble and that the planet is being devastated by global warming. Don't believe anything you don't want to. Last week I looked outside and saw one of my feral cats standing motionless and way too close to the wire fence in our backyard. I didn't want to believe my next thought: "Oh shit" "she's got her head caught in the fence." No kidding, not funny kind of experience. Can we turn it around? Maybe put the trap up against her back-end? And when she figures out how to un-snare herself -- voila, she'll be trapped, and we can take her to the Humane Society to get spayed. It just might be a good thing. Tried it. No. Not a good plan. She is definitely very stuck in the fence. Next we call for help. "MARK!!" Our contractor friend arrives with wire-cutters. Maybe not such a great idea either -- as we ARE dealing with a wire fence and a cat's neck. You get the picture. I say to Mark, "you hungry?" We've got lots of leftovers. Then I decide to call Toronto Animal Services. I press whatever number on the phone in the automated message says "is an animal's life in imminent danger". YES. YES. YES. Surprisingly sooner than later, the animal rescue guy arrives. He is alone. Tall. Skinny. Lone guy with a hoop net and a leash. I'm not feeling positive. He swings into action: orchestrating me and my husband to participate in the loosening of the wire mesh with the leash. He leaves our friend Mark, with the wire-cutters out of the psychodrama. I stop trying to figure out what's happening. I sense this guy know what he's doing. My animal, trusts his animal. Now I'm just here. In the moment, not thinking about anything. Next thing I know "the cat's in the bag" as it were, and is being transferred into a trap. I shake his hand and we put Fluff Daddy in the basement covered in a blanket. All is well. Or, so it seems. I breathe a sigh of relief until I check on the Toronto Humane Society website and realise the TNR clinic (where we would get her fixed), is closed for renovations. NOT, a comedy of errors. I call my Vet friend and ask for a favor. She makes some calls and gets us a spay appointment at the north location of TAS for the next morning. All good again. Involvement is a pain. It makes you feel alive. It implicates you in the outcome of events. It wrenches your heart and soars you to elation. I cannot stand by and watch the world get caught in a fence, without doing something. Did you turn out your lights on earth hour?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page