top of page

Memory & Moments

I forgot my socks. It's cold here, near the sea, foggy -

not what I'd expect. The internet lies.

My mother loved socks.

Everyone had to put a pair on when they came into her house.

Absolutely mandatory.

"You'll dirty the carpet," she'd bark.

(not that they had any visitors, except me)

Flashback. 2005. Florida

Dad calls on the phone "mom has had a heart attack"

"no need to come," "she's in hospital," "I'm waiting for her."

We hop the next plane, walk into their house.

It smells of mould and rotten food, the carpet filthy.

I walk in with my sandals.

My mother never came back.

I'm sitting on the bed in my parent's bedroom.

I count 164 pairs - crazy.

There are nylon socks, blue socks, thick socks & thin ones.

A darning needle & thread in the bottom of the basket.

She has been intending to fix them,

saving, waiting for time, to find time, to fix them -

but she never did.

She just collected socks,

and then she died.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page